Saurav Mohapatra - comic book writer

author, artist and bona fide geek

Month: January 2011

Witchblade #141 Reviews


Continuing from the previous post about Witchblade #140 reviews … (Co-written by me with regular series writer Ron Marz)

  1. Newsarama Best Shots Review http://www.newsarama.com/comics/best-shots-advance-110119.html
  2. Comic Buzz http://comicbuzz.com/witchblade-141-review
  3. Project Fanboyhttp://forums.projectfanboy.com/showthread.php?t=10308
  4. Comic Buzz http://comicbuzz.com/witchblade-141-review
  5. nFamous Gamers http://www.nfamousgamers.com/reviews/books/paper-monsters-witchblade-140-and-141
  6. Comic Attack http://comicattack.net/2011/01/tcrevwitchblade141/
  7. Pendragon Post http://www.pendragonspost.com/2011/01/23/witchblade-141-review-top-cow/
  8. Comics Bulletin http://www.comicsbulletin.com/reviews/129590607378350.htm
  9. Graphic Policy http://graphicpolicy.com/2011/01/31/review-witchblade-141/
  10. Weekly Comic Book Review http://weeklycomicbookreview.com/2011/01/25/witchblade-141-review/
  11. Donuts and Top Cow Podcast http://www.comicbooknoise.com/topcow/2011/02/episode-5-witchblade-140-and-141/ (7m30s onwards))

Once again, hearty thanks to Ron Marz, Top Cow, Filip Sabik and Phil Smith for giving me a chance to write Witchblade. Here’s hoping that we get to do something together again, soon… ish!

Reviews for Graven Images – Religion in Comic Books and Graphic Novels Anthology

As I’ve mentioned before, I had contributed to an anthology edited by A. David Lewis and Christine Hoff Kraemer titled “Graven Images – Religion in Comic Books and Graphic Novels” (as a continuation of the aforementioned panel discussion at Boston University. Looks like it’s out from Continuum Books and available at Amazon.

A couple of reviews for the book:

  1. Gods in the panel by Rebecca Buchanan at Sequential Tart
  2. Review of Graven Images at Eternal Haunted Summer by Phillip A Bernhardt-House

Money quote(s):

“Moore and Morrison also share the stage in an essay from the first section, Saurav Mohapatra’s "Echoes of Eternity: Hindu Reincarnation Motifs in Superhero Comic Books, " where he deals primarily with Moore’s Supreme and Morrison’s Animal Man in a most intriguing fashion. Mohapatra is one of the several comics writers whose contributions to the volume enhance its appeal greatly.”Phillip A Bernhardt-House at Eternal Haunted Summer